International alliances

The University of Copenhagen is a member of several international alliances, of which the three most important are IARU, LERU, and 4EU+.


IARU logo

International Alliance of Research Universities (IARU) is an alliance of 11 of the world’s leading research universities. The main objective of IARU is to improve the ties between the members and to work together to address the major challenges of our time.

IARU promotes institutional joint working on various levels of the member universities, such interuniversity networking, institutional learning and staff development. Projects cover a broad range of topics, ranging from equal opportunities, technology transfer, technology-enhanced learning, research administration, libraries and Open Access. Through the alliance, students from the University of Copenhagen gain access to a range of global education initiatives.

The other members are the Australian National University, ETH Zürich, National University of Singapore, Peking University, The University of Tokyo, University of California - Berkeley, University of Cambridge, University of Cape Town, University of Oxford, and Yale University.

For specific questions regarding the IARU, please contact UCPH’s point of contact Nele Høgsbro at

Read more about the International Alliance of Research Universities (IARU)


The League of European Research Universities (LERU) is an alliance of 23 of the highest ranked Comprehensive European research universities. Drawing on the impressive academic potential and expertise of its network, LERU has a strong and significant impact on research, innovation and higher education policy in Europe.

The University of Copenhagen entered the league in 2017 with the aim to influence the European research and education agenda and to expand and enhance relations to other LERU members. UCPH is an active partner and contributor to LERU activities at all levels of engagement.

For specific questions regarding LERU, please contact the University’s point of contact Jonas Espe Bak at

Read more about the League of European Research Universities (LERU)


University of Copenhagen is a member of the 4EU+ alliance. The alliance consists of six universities. The other members are Charles University in Prague, Heidelberg University, Sorbonne University in Paris, University of Milan, and University of Warsaw.

The network will explore collaboration in teaching, education, research and administration, with the aim to establish integrated European University System. In 2019, 4EU+ was selected by the European Commission as a pilot in European University Initiative, which will be fully rolled out and scaled up under the next Erasmus programme 2021-2027.

For specific questions regarding 4EU+, please, contact UCPH’s point of contact Hedvig Gyde Thomsen at

Read more about 4EU+