Board – University of Copenhagen

The Board together with the Senior Management

The Board

Purpose and composition

The Board is the University’s highest authority, and its mandate is to safeguard the University of Copenhagen’s interests as a research and educational institution. Among other things, the Board determines the frameworks for the university's organisation and sets long-term goals for its activities and development.

The Board is made up of six external members and five internal members. The members serve on the Board for a four-year period from the date they join. This does not apply for student representatives, who are up for election every other year. Board meetings are held approx. eight times a year with the participation of the University's top management.

The Board 2018

Photo: The Board and the Senior Management, October 2018.

Top row from the left: Board member Anja C. Andersen, board member Carsten Krogh Gomard, board member Birgitte Vedersø, board member Sine Sunesen and university director Jesper Olesen.

Middle row from the left: Board member Elias Westergaard, board member Rebecca Ingemann Madsen, chairman Mads Krogsgaard Thomsen, board member Kari Melby and rector Henrik C. Wegener.

Bottom row from the left: Board member Signe Møller Johansen, prorector Bente Merete Stallknecht and board member Eske Willerslev.

Not in the photograph: board member Jakob Thomasen.





Mads Krogsgaard Thomsen
Executive vice president and chief science officer Novo Nordisk
Eske Willerslev Professor University of Copenhagen
Birgitte Vedersø Headmaster Gefion Gymnasium
Rebecca Ingemann Madsen Student Law, University of Copenhagen
Anja C. Andersen Professor

University of Copenhagen

Signe Møller Johansen Senior consultant University of Copenhagen
Kari Melby Professor NTNU, Norwegian University of Science and Technology
Elias Westergaard Student Economics, University of Copenhagen
Sine Sunesen CEO Akademikerne (AC)
Jakob Thomasen Professionel Board member Former CEO of Maersk Oil

Carsten Krogh Gomard

Professionel Board member

Former CEO of Netcompany

Rules of Procedure

The Rules of Procedure for the Board at University of Copenhagen

Articles of Association

The Articles of Association of the University of Copenhagen is currently available in Danish only.

Read the Articles of Association.